Kind hearts steer us

Although this year has been an epic time in my life for cycling, it’s not an entirely new obsession. Over the years cycling has periodically played a vital role in my self-care. And I’ve dipped my toe in cycling challenges in the past.

I’d like to share a story from a few years ago about one of these times as I was recently reminded of how we often need others to help us achieve our goals, even though they are our goals.

I am fortunate to be part of a global network of suicide prevention trainers. Training up new trainers is an intense, challenging and highly rewarding piece of work. So when we come together as a team it’s important that we take care of each other so we can show up as our best selves to support learners. I love these training weeks, they are for me an example of how every workplace should be – the chance to grow and stretch yourself and learn.

One of the ways the training team take care of each other is to talk in advance about our self care needs and if we need support. Before attending one of these weeks in Denver, I told the team I was in the middle of doing a challenge to cycle 5km a day for 50 days and was anxious to know if the hotel had a gym so I could still make my miles.

After a long flight, I arrived at our venue to be presented with a red bicycle. One of my colleagues had arranged in advance for me to borrow a bike for the week so I could keep going with my challenge. He really listened, intuitively understanding that this was important to me. It’s not life and death important, like taking care of my diabetes needs, but a different kind of important. He knew that if I could get out on my bike that I would be able to show up better in my work. And above all, it made me happy.

I was deeply moved by this gesture of kindness. It’s years later but I still remember the feeling of overwhelming gratitude that someone really saw me and what I needed and was creative in his efforts to help me reach my goals. This gesture brought out the absolute best in me. That week I was able to be a better learner, a better teacher and a more supportive colleague. It taught me something so important about leadership and how to bring out the best in other people. This kindness became part of me and helped me to pay it forward to others in my life. There is such power and grace in kindness that we can never truly know the full ripple effect of our actions.

I have also realised that I am drawn to these types of communities because I know that I need them. Cycling communities where we encourage each other, diabetic communities where we commiserate bad days and support each other, work communities where I can learn from others and be challenged to grow, social communities where I can experience deep connections.

Over these past months it’s beginning to sink in that these two wheels are part of my support network – it’s not just a bike. It’s a lifeline. It’s a way to get me somewhere different and I don’t just mean geographically, but somewhere different in my mind, in my body, in my emotions, in my being.

I am grateful for all the travelling companions I have met in my life’s journey. I’m excited for the ones I’ve not yet met and what adventures might lie in store. Some of my companions are people, some of them are animals and some of them are bikes.

I hope that my words and this story has a ripple effect to remind others out there that even the smallest kindness to another human can change a person’s day, maybe even their life.

2 thoughts on “Kind hearts steer us

  1. I was privileged to be on that team when this act of kindness happened. It has also had a deep ripple effect on me. It has stayed with me over the years and influenced my own listening and open heartedness. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment