Refuge from the storms

Writing my blog has been a bit far down my list of priorities the past few weeks with various life and work stuff happening. But I have had the chance to cycle in some new places and have some mini adventures as well as cramming in my August gran fondo. In challenging and uncertain times, my bike remains my constant companion, my refuge.

Isle of Whithorn

When things feel difficult there is a comfort in the familiar feeling of feet grounded firmly on pedals, the turning of wheels, the sound of tyres on tarmac, muscles stretching and working hard – body and bike are a team and while they do their thing the mind can rest.

I actually get so much from cycling alone, there’s no demands on me, that feeling really fits with the word refuge – “shelter or protection from danger or distress”. It’s not just the bike, but its ability to take me to places where I feel comfort.

Glen Fruin

But I don’t always have to be alone and after getting my son his new to him bike, we had the chance to ride together up at Gravelfoyle. Darn it, why did I have to get him a cool bike? He was totally beasting me on the hills and I only managed to pass him on the downhills because I’m braver, or maybe dafter, than him. it’s hard not to get competitive when you cycle with other people. When we stopped for a rest, a wee mouse ran and hid under his bike wheel. It seems bikes are a refuge for smaller creatures as well as humans.

Gravelfoyle

Back to my solo adventures, time was running out to get my August 100km ride done. I really struggled to muster the motivation for this one. The only day I could fit it in started off with a bit of drizzle which became a downpour. By a quarter of the way there I was already thinking about turning back. The first half felt gruelling, with a 10 mile stretch of gradual uphill and the wind was not my friend. I stopped at the famous “Big Bike” on route 7 and honestly felt like I had actually been riding a concrete bike.

Big Bike, Kilbarchan

But like everything in life, things eventually turned around. The sun came out, the ride back was mainly downhill and the wind became my friend once again. Of course by this time my legs were completely done in, but I was determined to finish my miles. Even though they seemed to go on and on and on.

In every long ride there are difficult moments, boring stretches and moments that are completely uplifting and inspiring. My favourite moment from this long ride was finding a mural of a girl working on a bike. I though heck yeah, I feel like her, I’ll give it a go and I’ll be as bright and funky as I can.

And when I think of refuge from life’s storms, which inevitably come, I am reminded of the words of Alexandre Dumas: “Life is a storm, my young friend. You will bask in the sunlight one moment, be shattered on the rocks the next. What makes you a man is what you do when that storm comes.” Although of course I’d swap out man for woman, the essence is the same for me. I believe whatever it is inside me that can keep me pedalling for 100km is the same stuff that can keep me going through life, especially when the storms come.

2 thoughts on “Refuge from the storms

Leave a comment